Moggill and Bellbowrie Street Names
The roads described in this gazetteer are found in the three local suburbs: the original district of Moggill which was first named in 1849 when land sub-division began, the locality of Anstead, created in 1975, and Bellbowrie also named in 1975.
Most of the roads commemorate early Moggill pioneer families who arrived in Queensland from the middle of the 19th.
Many other roads are named after Australian flora and fauna and these are not listed.
Local street names
Anstead | Anstead Mews
John Anstead (discover more – this will open a new tab) was born in 1826 in Bickleigh, Devon. He sailed on the Ascendant and arrived in Brisbane on 24 June 1858. He settled on Mt Crosby Road, opposite the junction of Kangaroo Gully and Mt Crosby Roads. John married Susannah Williamson from Co. Down, Ireland in 1866 and had five children. He spent his pioneering days as a timber-getter and died on 3 September 1893. Susannah and John are buried in Moggill Cemetery. Their eldest son, John, remained in Moggill, where he worked as a dairy farmer and later, managed Sugars’ quarry. John’s son, Joseph Thomas Anstead, married Isabella Bainbridge.
On 2 July 1863, the Cairngorm arrived in Brisbane after a ‘favourable’ passage of 92 days from Greenock. Amongst the Scots emigrants were Robert Bower Bainbridge, Dougald and Margaret Currie and their children. By 1870, Dougald and his family were settled in Pullen Vale on portion 225 when they felled timber to build their home. His daughter, Mary, selected the 59 acres adjoining portion 225 and married Robert Bainbridge. Here their eleven children were born and nine of these are buried in Moggill Cemetery as are their parents and their maternal grandparents. Members of the family married into the Anstead family: daughter Isabella married Joseph Anstead and grand-daughter Violet married William Anstead.
James Boyle originated from Armagh, Ireland. In 1868 he took up a selection of land on Pullen Pullen Creek at Moggill. James married Elizabeth Hughes, also of Armagh, at St Stephen’s Church, Brisbane. They raised a family of eleven children in their home on the corner of Mt Crosby and O’Brien Roads. The family made a living by dairy farming and growing small crops. The farm passed on to William, who in turn sold it to his youngest brother, Patrick, who lived on the property until his death in 1965. Patrick served in World War 1 and was a prisoner-of-war in Germany. He is buried in Moggill Cemetery.
Donald Campbell (discover more – this will open a new tab) , his wife Marion, and family arrived on the Harbinger in Sydney in February 1849 and made their way to Moreton Bay on a coastal sailor, eventually settling permanently in Moggill in March 1852. Marion was left with nine children to manage the farm when Donald died on 1 August 1858. He was buried in Moggill Cemetery. Some of the children became landowners in the Moggill district: Donald and Alexander originally owned the land on which the Moggill Cemetery is sited. Marion died in 1893 at the advanced age of 98. She too, is buried in Moggill Cemetery.
Herbert Ellerby lived in Manchester and worked as a bookbinder. He married Sarah Askew in December 1845 and they arrived in Sydney aboard the Lima on 17 October 1849. The Moreton Bay Courier then reported a curious case on 9 February 1850. Henry had engaged the steamboat Tamar to bring passengers to Brisbane for “a stipulated sum for himself and for his luggage”. Two passengers had “resisted” an extra charge, so Henry sued them and won. A little later, another Courier article on the growth of cotton noted that a “Mr Ellerby of Moggill Creek proposes to put 14 acres of his land under cotton cultivation”.
The Gibson family originated from County Fermanagh in Northern Ireland. Thomas Gibson was born around 1833 and made his way to Australia in 1862 with his wife and two sons. They travelled on the migrant ship Theresa which had been contracted by the British Commissioners to take nominated emigrants to Queensland. By 1875, Thomas had amassed enough funds to buy a 173-acre (70 ha) block of pastoral land in Moggill. The block, portion 159, was the entire piece of land between Moggill Road and Kangaroo Gully Road, south of the boundary with Sugars Road. Thomas farmed the land until his death in 1920. Four members of the Gibson family lie buried in Moggill Cemetery.
On 21 April 1855, the Cambodia, sailed from Plymouth with 326 government (assisted) immigrants aboard including Joseph Hallett, a 19-year-old gardener from South Petherton, Somerset. Also on the ship was Jane White, an 18-year-old from Ardee, County Louth, Ireland. The Cambodia arrived in Moreton on 1 August 1855 and Joseph and Ann were married a year later. In 1860, Joseph bought 40 acres of land on the Brisbane River at Moggill for 40 pounds where they raised 13 children. Joseph’s widow, Jane, eventually owned some 700 acres, one of the largest landowners in Moggill. Jane died in 1901 and was buried at Moggill with her husband and youngest child.
Harris Close | Harris Place
The Harris family were pineapple farmers who had large landholdings in Witty Road. Pineapple propagation came to an end in the early 2000s and the farmland was sold for redevelopment. Members of the family remain living and working in Moggill.
The Lather family originated from Germany and were amongst the first German immigrants to arrive in Brisbane. John (Johann) Lather (discover more – this will open a new tab) was born on 18 February 1823 in Lohra, near Marburg. He was a vine dresser and in 1854, decided to move to Australia, presumably to further his trade of viticulture. The Lather family left Hamburg on 20 October 1854 aboard the Aurora with 236 immigrants. In August 1919, Charles and Minnie Lather purchased a dairy farm on Pullen Pullen Creek. Charles served as on the Church property board, Rita was organist and Minnie, secretary of the Ladies Guild. Edward worked in the PMG Department. The Lather family built the tennis court at the church. Charles Lather died in July 1934 and was buried in the Moggill Cemetery.
Frank Hamilton Livesay (discover more – this will open a new tab) was born in Potters Bar, North London in 1879. In the early 1900s, Frank spent four years in Canada where he gained farming experience on the prairies and learned the skills necessary to build a log cabin from hand-hewn timber. He served as a Lieutenant in The Queen’s Royal West Surrey Regiment during World War 1. Frank arrived in Sydney on 9 February 1920 aboard the SS Beltana with his wife Muriel Eddeva Blakeway. They moved to Moggill and bought 40 acres of land under the Soldier Resettlement Scheme and farmed pineapples. Frank built a comfortable log cabin which remained standing until the Beaufort Crest development was started.
Thomas Tindale Makepeace, a coal hewer, married his wife Hannah Fryar in Haltwhistle, Northumberland on 13 February 1847. They had four children and emigrated to Australia in 1857 eventually settling in Moggill. Thomas worked at the Redbank Coal Mines but after an accident, he turned to farming. His farm was once described as “a pattern of neatness and comfort … it had an air of the well-to-do and successful farmer”. Thomas was a foundation member of Moggill Methodist Church and is buried in Moggill Cemetery with his wife. Their grandson, Edgar Gordon Makepeace went to Moggill State School and served in World War 1. He was killed in action on Passchendaele Ridge on 5 October 1917.
The O’Brien family originated from Armagh in Northern Ireland. A series of bad harvests in the early 1860s led to emigration, encouraged by the Queensland Immigration Society. The “gallant” Queen of the Colonies left Gravesend, London on 23 December 1862 and arrived in Moreton Bay on 6 April 1863. Charles O’Brien settled near Pullen Pullen Creek with his wife Catherine and bought nearly 300 acres (121 ha) of land. He built the family homestead which he named “Starmount.” The land was situated between Moggill and Grandview Roads and Lancing Street. Four O’Brien grandsons served in World War 2 and the Catholic Worship Centre in Moggill is named after Catherine O’Brien.
Priors Pocket Road | Prior Pocket
Thomas Murray Lodge Prior (discover more – this will open a new tab) was born on 13 November 1819 at Wells, Somerset, England. On 26 May 1839, he arrived in Port Jackson, NSW aboard the Roxburgh Castle as an unassisted migrant. His association with Moggill began in 1850 when Thomas began purchasing land circumscribed by a loop in the Brisbane River later known as Prior’s Pocket. He expanded his holding in 1852 when he purchased 328 acres in the area then called Toocoobah. However, Thomas did not live at Toocoobah and maintained a residence across the river at Woogaroo where he improved his imported herd of short-homed Durham cattle. He became Postmaster General of Queensland in 1862 and served on the Queensland Legislative Council.
Robert Sexton, his wife, Mary Bacon and two children arrived on the Lima in 1849. After living at West End, Robert bought the property “Woodbine Hill” from the NSW Government. Robert and Mary had another three children born in Moggill. Robert and his son Thomas were foundation members of the Moggill Methodist Church built in 1868. His younger son George was nine when he enrolled in Moggill State School on the day it opened in February 1866. George married Emily Waller and had two children, Norman and Roy. Norman served in World War 1 and purchased land at Ugly Creek where he raised four children with his wife Jessie Martin before leaving Moggill in 1938.
Thomas Sugars (discover more – this will open a new tab) was born in Ampthill, England on 26 August 1834. He married Sophia Breed in 1857 and they sailed the same year for Australia on the Irene. From 1864, Thomas spent 23 years timber getting and dairy farming before opening a blue metal quarry on the banks of the Brisbane River in 1887. He was a JP, a member of the Indooroopilly Divisional Board and a foundation member of Moggill Methodist Church. Thomas and Sophia had eleven children and two of their grandsons, William and Leonard, and great nephew Vivian served in World War 1. Sophia died in 1914 and Thomas, in 1915. They are buried in Moggill Cemetery with four of their children.
Job Twine, his wife, Ann Cumberland and their four children left England in 1849 for Australia aboard the ship Lima. Job purchased four blocks in Moggill, the property being the first recorded survey in Moggill. Job Twine, his son William, and John Pettigrew were instrumental in having Ipswich proclaimed a city on 3 March 1860. Job died in 1877 and Ann in 1879. Both are buried in Moggill Cemetery. Robert Cumberland Twine took over the farm upon his father’s death and his wife Sarah had five children. Albert carried on the farm when his father died. He ran a dairy, planted small crops and, in addition, was an apiarist. He had five children and died in 1968.
William Robert Howe Weekes was born around 1797 in Victoria. In 1844, he was appointed Acting Town Surveyor of Melbourne Town Corporation. A year later, he had relocated to Geelong where he was elected one of eight auditors of Geelong Corporation. He practised as an architect and surveyor in Geelong with his wife, Jane Orr. In the second half of the 19th century, he acquired several landholdings in Geelong and elsewhere in Brisbane, including land in North and South Brisbane, Sandgate and Toombul. He bought three blocks of land in Moggill, of which two portions (13 and 16) acquired in 1850, were on either side of Weekes Road, nearest to the junction with Livesay Road. William died in 1885.
Westaway Crescent | Westaway Park
The Westaway family can trace its roots back to the 15th century in the Devon village of Belstone. William Henry Westaway born around 1863 and emigrated to Queensland when he was 20. He married Alice Kate Hooper in 1887 in Brisbane. Their son, also William Henry, joined up as a Trooper in 5th Australian Light Horse. He died following a gas attack on 4 December 1917 in Palestine, just 22 years old. A total of 24 Westaway family members gave their lives in World War I. The Westaway family became well known as pineapple growers in the district and although the pineapples are long gone, members of Westaway family live locally.
Herbert Ernest Westcott was born in Battersea, London and worked as a kitchen porter. He married Rosina Elizabeth Okines in 1903 and left England for Australia in 1911 on the Arrianus with their three children. After arriving in Brisbane, they travelled by train to Riverview and crossed the river by ferry to Moggill. Herbert and Rosina had another six children and all attended Moggill State School. Herbert worked in Sugars’ quarry and later bought land of both sides of Witty Road. Herbert started dairy and poultry farming and grew pineapples. Herbert died in 1934 and is buried in Moggill Cemetery. Second and third generations of the Westcott family have attended attend Moggill School.
William Knight Witty (discover more – this will open a new tab) was born around 1834 in Hanley, Staffordshire. In 1863, he married Mary Knight and they left Gravesend on 21 April 1864 as assisted emigrants aboard the ship Fusilier. Heavily pregnant, Mary gave birth to a daughter Edna Anne, however, Edna died on 9 August and was buried at sea. William and Mary arrived in Moreton Bay on 14 August 1864 and set up a retail china business next to the Town Hall in Queen Street. In 1866, William was working as a pork butcher and two years later he opened Witty’s Family Hotel and Restaurant in Queen Street. The same year, William purchased 60 acres of land in Moggill “near the Brisbane River”, but there is no evidence that the Witty family lived on this Moggill block. He later took up a sugar plantation in Beenleigh.